1979 State of the Art of Listening Symposium Attendees

In 1979 a group of concerned and committed individuals met on the campus of the University of Minnesota for the first State of the Art Symposium. Under the leadership of Lyman K. "Manny" Steil, those 27 professionals decided to form the International Listening Association. 

Founding Members

"Any member who joined the Association during the first year and has maintained membership in the Association from that time forward shall be listed in the convention program each year as a founding member" (listed alphabetically).  There were about 180 people who joined the ILA during the first year. (Member number precedes name)

 Bev Aweve
 William Arnold
 Larry L. Barker*
 Wayne Bond
 Jerald Carstens*
 #0068 Carolyn Coakley Hickerson*
 #0033 Edith Walters Cole
 #0069 James East*
 #0073 Ella Erway
 #0007 Mary Forestieri
 #0024 Corinne Geeting*
 #0046 William M. Gehring*
 #0094 Warren Gore*
 #0059 Carole Grau*
 Lou Hampton
Joyce Donen Hirschhorn*
 #0075 Nanette Johnson-Curiskis
 #0034 Nadine Marsnik
 #0058 Ray McKelvy
 #0063 E. Lucile Nichols*
 #0062 Ralph G. Nichols*
 #0035 Terry H. Ostermeier
 #0057 Kenneth Paulin
 #0096 Richard R. Reagan
 #0003 Alice Ridge
 #0101 Arthur Robertson
 #0200 Dee Steil*
 #0001 Lyman K. (Manny) Steil
 #0031 Milda Steinbrecher
 #0093 Stanford E. Taylor
 #0100 Kittie W. Watson
 #0016 Harvey F. Weiss 
 #0171 Tom Wirkus*
 #0027 Florence I. Wolff*
 #0009 Andrew Wolvin

(* Denotes Deceased)

Listening Legends

The first Listening legend was founder Lyman K. "Manny" Steil in 2002. Listening Legends have made an indelible mark on listening and the ILA. Listening Legends was a series of biographies in the Listening Post.

Lyman K. "Manny" Steil

Ralph Nichols*

Andrew Wolvin

Carol Grau

Larry Barker *

Sheila Bentley

Wayne Bond

Kittie Watson

Bob Bolken

Melissa Beall

Nadine Marsnik

Harvey Weiss

Erika Vora

Jim Floyd

Kathy Thompson*

(*Denotes deceased)

Lifetime Members

Since the the 1979 Symposium, the ILA has grown to include members from all over the world. Those listed below are Lifetime members.

W. Clifton Adams

Teruko Akita
Linda Albert

Alberta Arnold

William Arnold

Yoshio Asano

Beverly Aweve

Emmanuel S. A. Ayee

Susan Ellen Bacon

Larry Barker *

Kimberly Batty-Herbert

Melissa Beall

Sheila Bentley

Robert Bohlken

Richard Bommelje

Wayne Bond

Jay Brandon

Ila June Brown-Pratt

Jerry Catt-Oliason

Carolyn Coakley Hickerson *

Edie Cole

Judith Cole *

Pamela Cooper

Daniel Corey

Diana Corley Schnapp

Beth Courtier

Carolyn deLisser

Peter deLisser

Anita Dorczak

George Dwyer

Sakae Endo

Gregory Enos

Ella Erway

Margaret Fitch-Hauser

James Floyd

Mary Forestieri

Wendy Fraser *

Corrine Geeting *

William Gehring *

Catherine Gifford

Michael Gilbert

Tim Gilmor

Warren Gore*

Frances Grant

Carole Grau

Jennifer Grau

Barnett C. Helzberg, Jr.

Thomas Hickerson*

Joyce Donen Hirschhorn*

Bill Holland

Richard Hunsaker

Margarete Imhof

Laura Janusik

Nanette Johnson-Curiskis

Mark LeBlanc

Nadine Marsnik

Sally McCracken

Ray McKelvy

Justin McKeown

Murlene McKinnon

Mary Ann Messano-Ciesla

Robert Metke *

John Murphy

Michael Z Murphy

Robert Neuleib

Linda Wilson Nichols

E. Lucile Nichols*

Ned Nichols*

Ralph Nichols*

Jack Nichols

Rick Nienow

Barbara Nixon

Stephanie Noel
Kathy O'Brien
I. Warton Ong

Lisa Orick-Martinez

Kenneth Paulin

James Pratt

Sara Gayle Pyfrom*

Shelby Reigstad

Paul Rich

Alice Ridge

Charles Roberts

Arthur Robertson
Liz Lavallee Shifflett

Dee Steil*

Lyman "Manny" Steil

Sandy Stein*

Hiroko Suzuki

Frank Thomas
Philip Tirpak

Charles Veenstra

Rosanne Vogel
Kittie Watson

Harvey Weiss

Gil Whiteman

Florence Wolff*

Andrew Wolvin

Debra Worthington

Ray Young

(*Denotes deceased)

Some members have requested that their name not be included in this listing for privacy reasons.

International Listening Association
943 Park Drive, Belle Plaine, MN 56011, USA. Phone: (001) 952-594-5697
The ILA is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization
Web Hosting managed by Influential Computers Ltd

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software